May The Best Design of 2015 Win

In its eighth year, the London Design Museum‘s ‘Designs Of The Year‘ announces the nominees for 2015. The annual award celebrates design that “promotes or delivers chance, enables access, extends design practice or captures the spirit of the year” is a fest of creative thinkers. This year’s nominees come from over 30 countries across five continents, and range from the world’s first lab for 3D printing prosthetic limbs through ‘Google’s self-driving car’ by Yoojung Ahn, Jared Gross and Philipp Haban to Paul Cocksedge Studio’s much hyped Double O bike light. The award acknowledges the global breadth of creativity and design talent across the diverse sectors of architecture, digital, fashion, graphics, product, and transport design.


The jury, chaired by Anish Kapoor and including members designed-turned-sculptor Nicole Farhi and architect Farshid Moussavi amongst others, will announce the winners in each of the six categories – Architecture, Digital, Fashion, Product, Graphics and Transport – on May 4, with an overall winner revealed on June 4.


The 2015 shortlist of 76 studios and design practitioners — from over thirty countries across five continents — which include emerging practices, as well as some of the industry’s biggest names, were selected by design academics, experts and practitioners from across the world which the design museum invited to suggest potential projects.


You can see every nominee on display at the Design Museum from March 25, a triumphant testament to the power of good design indeed.

designs-of-the-year-2015-nominees-designboom-06 designs-of-the-year-2015-nominees-designboom-07 designs-of-the-year-2015-nominees-designboom-12 designs-of-the-year-2015-nominees-designboom-13 designs-of-the-year-2015-nominees-designboom-14 designs-of-the-year-2015-nominees-designboom-15