CFDA Fashion Awards: all the nominees

Each June, the international fashion community honors the best and brightest in American design at the CFDA Fashion Awards. Founded in 1981, they are the highest honor in fashion and recognize the outstanding contributions made to American fashion in womenswear, menswear, accessories and emerging talent, as well as journalism, creative vision, personal style, positive change, and lifetime achievement.

Nominations for each award category are submitted by the CFDA Fashion Awards Guild, an invitation-only network made up of the 500+ members of the CFDA, along with top fashion retailers, journalists, stylists and influencers. The nominees as well as recipients of the honorary awards are ratified by the CFDA Board of Directors. The Guild also votes for the winners for Womenswear, Menswear an Accessory Designer of the Year, as well as the unified Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent.

The nominees and honorees were revealed on the organization’s Instagram feed as a digital-only campaign featuring designers, models and influencers from within the American fashion industry,

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Virgil Abloh of Off-White, Gabriela Hearst, Marc Jacobs, Ashley & Mary-Kate Olsen of The Row, Raf Simons of Calvin Klein

Menswear Designer of the Year: Virgil Abloh of Off-White, Thom Browne, Tom Ford, James Jebbia of Supreme, Raf Simons of Calvin Klein

Accessories Designer of the Year: Paul Andrew, Stuart Vevers of Coach, Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel of Mansur Gavriel, Irene Neuwirth, Ashley & Mary-Kate Olsen of The Row

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent: Mike Amiri of Amiri, Laura Vassar Brock and Christopher Brock of Brock Collection, Aurora James of Brother Vellies, Kerby Jean-Raymond of Pyer Moss and Sander Lak of Sies Marjan.

Swarovski Award for Positive Change: Diane von Furstenberg

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Narciso Rodriguez

Founders Award: Carolina Herrera

International Award: Donatella Versace

Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Edward Enniful

The 2018 CFDA Fashion Awards, in partnership with Swarovski for the 17th year, will be hosted by Issa Rae on Monday, June 4, at the Brooklyn Museum.